Amplifying Minds

Learning and Growing Together

Some More Book Reviews

I haven’t had much time or inclination to read lately–been WAY too busy–but I don’t want to forget thee ones I have read, so am trying to keep up with sharing at least something about the books I preview for my kids.

First, You’ll Like It Here (Everybody Does)  seems like it’s the first book in what could easily turn into a series.  The characters are okay, but everything that happens is just too predictable and beyond that, a bit too to-be-expected.  It was okay, kids might like it, but if I hadn’t already spent my money to buy it, I wouldn’t.

Secondly, I think  Hound Dog True is a book about introverts. Many of the characters are people who prefer their own company or to be in a small group rather than a large one.  Mattie Breen tells the story, through her words, and her stories.  Again, the ending is pretty predictable, but the process of getting there is interesting, full of quirky characters, and roundabout enough to keep one involved. I laughed, I felt sad and I was curious and intrigued as I read it–that’s a good book in my opinion.

Thirdly,  Hope Was Here is a book about old timey towns–or an old timey town– where corruption has taken over–until teenagers, a man dying of leukemia and a transplanted lady cop take back over the town. Hope came to life for me as a character in this book, and I’d like to read more about her. I was sad when this book came to an end.

And, lastly for now, The Summer I Learned to Fly is a book about family, about growing up and about taking ownership of your behaviors and decisions. It’s about first “like” and trust and being in a household with a single parent. It’s about small towns and understanding the difference between a want and a need because you live with having to make those decisions to have your needs met. It’s a great story, that allows one to easily talk about empathy.

I’m finding my book taste runs to family stories…and especially intergenerational ones as I read. I guess recognizing that is crucial to deciding which books to read and which to share.  More books at a later date….

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

