Amplifying Minds

Learning and Growing Together

Once You Have Bad Sound….

there’s nothing you can do about it, the expert brought in to teach kids about making movies said to each group.

And in each group (3 sets of mixed classes of 3rd, 4th and 5th graders) at least one kid turned to me and said something to the effect of, “Hasn’t he ever heard of voiceovers?”

My response?  “No one knows everything, so learn what you can from whomever you can, whenever you can.”

He was using a mac for his powerpoint, but I don’t know if iMovie is his movie editing software…it’s simple to do voiceovers in that program. Maybe he thought kids couldn’t do them. I don’t know.

What I do know is that Joe Lambert is an expert with them, and that’s who I learned my skills from, first in 1999 and later, from  2003-2004 as I worked with him at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC to help teachers create podcasts at a teacher institute there. Then, I taught how to do voiceovers from 2004-2009 as I continued to work at the NGA in their summer Teacher Institute.  So many of my kids know about voiceovers–when we do movies, I always teach them.

The point though, is that definitive statements that negate kids solving their own problems don’t teach kids to be learners. When we make blanket statements about this doesn’t work, or that doesn’t work, we teach kids to not look for alternatives. We teach kids not to be thinkers. We teach kids not to be creative in their approaches to problems.

And we all do it. But thinking about it and being aware of it might help me next time I start to say something like that.  I certainly hope so!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

