Amplifying Minds

Learning and Growing Together

This Is a Cup…

…”but you don’t want it to look like a cup, right?” my sister asked as she picked up her coffee cup and put it in front of me. I laughed, but she had a point. I needed to explain better what I was trying to say.

My school is involved in one of our county “Design 2015” grants, which we created to help us teach through 7 specific pathways.  We are working to use the P21 4 C’s (collaboration, creativity, communication and critical thinking) as we include choice and comfort and work on our learning spaces to meet the needs of our learners.

So, my sister and I were sitting in my room today, trying to figure out how to shake up my classroom to be able to see the 7 pathways and make my room not look like a classroom–or at least look different from traditional classrooms. So, let’s start with the first pathway and check it out–

(The following definition is taken right from our system’s “pathways” page.)

Choice and Comfort

Provides learners with a variety of learning space choices based on task-based and physical comfort-based needs while supporting learners to alter and use spaces to initiate and accomplish collaborative and individual work as they use multiple communication tools and contemporary technologies; student learning products demonstrate student choices in curriculum, task, technologies, and media.

So if I dissect that…

well, you decide:

Provides learners with a variety of learning space choices based on task-based and physical comfort-based needs

Hmmm, there is this and this and maybe even this.

while supporting learners to alter and use spaces to initiate and accomplish collaborative and individual work as they use multiple communication tools and contemporary technologies;

The picture referenced above shows how kids move things around in my room.

I think these ideas clearly say we use multiple communication tools and contemporary technologies.

student learning products demonstrate student choices in curriculum, task, technologies, and media.

Student Choices? Here and here and even here.

So does that cover it?  It still hasn’t helped me figure out how to rearrange, and what I need to change to “see” the 7 pathways…

Maybe I should move on to the second pathway–Instructional Tolerance.

Oh, that’s my next post. See you then!

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

